Steam Machines Prototype Specs Revealed!

Image

 

WHODAFUQ, WHYDAFUQ, HOWQDAFUQ, Valve? Honestly, when I first heard about the SteamBox, my socks literally flew off my feet on their own. I believed it was going to be the next milestone for console gaming, going back to a gaming-centered console. Something even Nintendo was neglecting. All these features for Hulu, Youtube, web browsers, etc. I honestly have never given a damn, thus my huge 180 to PC gaming. I saw Valve giving up that real console feel after they launched Big Picture mode. This was all great, then they unveiled their Steam Machines. Up to there, I was even, uh, very excited. Honestly, seeing different specification to suit the consumers needs was an amazing idea. Then, they give us the prototypes specs. I’ll tell you before I give you my opinion:

The 300 prototype units will ship with the following components: 
GPU: some units with NVidia Titan, some GTX780, some GTX760, and some GTX660 
CPU: some boxes with Intel : i7-4770, some i5-4570, and some i3 
RAM: 16GB DDR3-1600 (CPU), 3GB DDR5 (GPU) 
Storage: 1TB/8GB Hybrid SSHD 
Power Supply: Internal 450w 80Plus Gold 
Dimensions: approx. 12 x 12.4 x 2.9 in high

source: Joystiq

These specs are GREAT, if you were planning on buying a high-end gaming PC, not a damn console. Seriously, I was here thinking about the innovation possible, and Valve just shoves a damn gaming PC’s in our throats. I was hoping for Valve to have AMD’s new Mantle hardware, which is a PC GPU, sure, but I had console-like qualities. The price is another thing, these are high-end GPU’s and CPU’s, except that weird i3. The price for those alone make it as pricy as a Wii U. Don’t even get me started on the RAM. 16GB’s? Why? 8GB’s is more than enough, no game utilizes more than that. Since SteamOS streamlines your PC, this is a damn super duper computer. I don’t get what Valve is doing. Here’s to hoping I’m wrong!

Thank you for reading.

One thought on “Steam Machines Prototype Specs Revealed!

Leave a Reply

